This website uses cookies

Cookies are small text files that can be used by websites to make a user's experience more secure and to analyze traffic to the site. We use cookies for the following purposes:

- Necessary: Cookies are required to access secure areas of the website and to provide important platform notifications. The site cannot function properly without these cookies
- Statistics: Cookies are used to track device information anonymously to better understand how visitors interact with the website.

This notice applies to the following domains: goto.webcasts.com

Can hydro power mines?

Thu, Apr 11, 2019 2:30 PM CEST{LOCAL_TZ}


                12h30 GMT | 14h30 Johannesburg | 13h30 London | 14h30 Paris | 18h00 New Delhi | 08h30 New York

Is hydropower a viable option to support mining operations’ energy needs?

Whether pumped hydroelectric, run-of-river, or small hydropower systems there is a growing need to use Africa’s vast hydro potential to boost reliability of power in remote areas, and specifically for the mining industry.

The potential is there, however, it’s not without its financial, operational and environmental challenges.

This webinar, moderated by ESI Africa editor Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl and Mining Review Africa editor Laura Cornish will address the commercial and operational value of hydropower at Africa’s mines.

1. How can hydropower development benefit new and existing mining projects in remote parts of Africa?
2. Weighing in on the financial benefits – capex vs. opex vs. traditional diesel power supply.
3. How to incorporate hydropower into organisational corporate social responsibility for communities
4. A view on environmental impact assessment best practices for hydropower projects
5. How can hydropower projects mitigate the effects of climate change to remain a relevant source of power for mining operations?

Join our guest speakers as they unpack these key points on the ground rules around hydropower in the mining industry.

Speakers:
headshot
Robert Greyling
Dams Engineer, PrENG
Knight Piesold
headshot
Rudo Sanyanga
Africa Programme Director
International Rivers


Sponsored by:




Clarion Events Group take your privacy very seriously. By requesting information on this form we will also use your information on the basis of our legitimate interests to keep in contact with you about future editions of this and other similar events which may be of interest to you. We will only ever use the information we collect or receive about you in accordance with our Privacy Policy.
Already Registered? Log In Now
Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)
  • From Mining Review Africa
  • From ESI Africa
  • African Utility Week | PowerGen Africa
  • DRC Mining Week
  • Knight Piesold
  • Website banner
  • Newsletter
  • LinkedIn
  • Social media (Facebook/Twitter)
  • Shared by a colleague
  • African Utility Week | PowerGen Africa
  • DRC Mining Week
  • ESI Africa
  • Mining Review Africa
  • Hydropower Development
  • Energy Efficiency
  • Mining Operations