Drowning in TGCA Data: How to Keep Your Head Above Water

Wed, May 2, 2018 5:00 PM BST


5PM BST | 12PM EDT | 9AM PDT

Over a decade after its initial funding, The Cancer Genome Atlas has concluded with the most comprehensive analysis of TCGA data, cataloguing DNA alterations, gene expression and epigenetic information across thousands of tumours as part of the PanCanAtlas effort. TCGA has generated vast amounts of data through the analysis of primary tumours from 33 different types of Cancer, collecting 7 different data types. Data collected through TCGA project is normalised and open source, providing information about the cancer landscape for researchers to use as a platform for further exploration. To fully benefit from these vast quantities of data, tools for easy data visualisation and analysis must be developed for use of the non-computational scientist.

Our panel of experts discuss TCGA data and the tools needed to make sense of it.
  • Dr Carolyn Hutter - Division Director for the Division of Genome Sciences and Team Lead for TCGA, NHGRI NIH
  • Dr Nikolaus Schultz, Head of Knowledge Systems and Developer of cBio Portal, Marie-Josée & Henry R. Kravis Center for Molecular Oncology, MSKCC
  • Dr Simon Forbes, Head of COSMIC, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
  • Dr Andrew Carroll, Vice President of Science, DNA Nexus
Already Registered? Log In Now

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)