The Memory Ensemble: Using Improvisation to Improve Quality of Life for Persons Living with Dementia 


Date: Tue, Mar 13, 2018 11:00 AM PDT 1 hour 44 mins                                                                                                                                                          


11:00 AM Pacific / 12:00 PM Mountain / 1:00 PM Central/ 2:00 PM Eastern



Part of the National Alzheimer’s and Dementia Resource Center webinar series sponsored by the Administration for Community Living.

The Memory Ensemble™ — a seven-year partnership between the Cognitive Neurology and Alzheimer’ Disease Center (CNADC), Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine and the Lookingglass Theatre Company (LTC) — is an eight-week improvisational theatre intervention program for persons living with early stage dementia. The mission of the Memory Ensemble is to improve the quality of life for persons living with dementia and their families; to investigate the benefits of this non-pharmacological intervention; and to translate these benefits to other communities. The seminar will provide participants with a history of the Memory Ensemble; a brief review of the literature on the impact of the arts and improvisation on dementia and aging; a review of Memory Ensemble research findings to date; an introduction to foundational principles of improvisation and how they apply to work with persons living with dementia; specific examples of activities that participants can engage in multiple settings to improve quality of life for and with people living with dementia; and suggestions for further reading.

Presenters: Darby Morhardt and Christine Mary Dunford


The American Society on Aging has discontinued the call-in phone number for our webinars. Audio for this webinar will be broadcast only via VoIP (your computer speakers).

Group viewings are encouraged, but please note only the registrant who logs on and joins the webcast is eligible for the CEUs. Each individual who will be claiming CEUs needs to register and log into the event using their email address so we can verify their attendance.


Already Registered? Log In Now

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)