Metabolomics Connects the Genome to Phenotype

Understanding phenotypes is the central need for enabling research and medical advances. The exploration of gene function and the use of genomics tools have been a focal-point for unraveling phenotypes for the last 2 decades. But, while these genomic tools have provided many important insights and discoveries a staggeringly complex picture has also emerged. Deciphering the meaningful biological signal from noise amongst all of this complexity is a persistent challenge.

Since metabolites are regarded as an intermediate phenotype, metabolomics has emerged as an ideal way to bridge the genotype-phenotype relationship.  However, there are critical considerations to successful implementation of metabolomics; platforms must be highly stable, scalable and able to capture a meaningfully broad swath of the metabolites within a biological sample.

The webinar will review the history of phenotyping with genomic approaches and outline some of the key challenges and how, since metabolites provide an “intermediate phenotype” metabolomics has become an important companion. We will also detail some of the key technological hurdles that were overcome in order for metabolomics to contribute to defining intermediate phenotypes and, hence, gene activity and function. Finally, we will summarize how metabolomics is contributing to human genetics, transcriptional profiling and microbiome research.

Learning Objectives:

  • History of phenotyping with genomic approaches
  • Key challenges
  • Key technology hurdles overcome with metabolomics
  • Summary of how metabolomics is contributing to human genetics, transcriptional profiling and microbiome research.

Join us on 23rd of May 2017 at 10:30 AM EDT (3:30 PM BST / 7:30 AM PDT)






Already Registered? Log In Now

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* "indicates required field)